Falling in Love with Yoga

Standard

Music fuels my practice.  Some of the songs I adore practicing to are, admittedly, “love” songs.  I am often reluctant to use these particular songs in my class playlists.  Then it occurred to me that the reason that these songs resonate with me in this way is because I am having a serious love affair with yoga!  My practice is a container for my life.  It holds the space for me to be as I am in that moment.  It does not judge.  I can laugh, cry, flawlessly stand on my head, or fall on my asana and it still beckons to me and welcomes me back for more.  And that isn’t even the best part!  The process of consistently showing up on the mat has taught me how to consistently show up in the world.  Yoga has held up a mirror to my soul and reflected back the parts that are authentically me.  It shows me the ugly pieces too and gives me permission to hold on to them and struggle with them until I am ready to bid them farewell.  Unconditional love.

I come to my mat with all of the pieces of myself that need sorting out; physically, emotionally, and spiritually.  I have learned patience, perseverance, strength, stillness, and grace.

I am absolutely smitten and I have fallen in love with the whole process.  I look forward to every opportunity with which I am blessed to practice on and off the mat.

Leave a Reply

