Receiving Grace

Standard

January 14, 2008

Some time ago, I took a workshop in Littleton, Massachusetts.  I was awe-inspired by the energy and light of the woman assisting that day.  I sought out this woman and continued to take classes with her whenever I was able.

Changes and circumstances in my life made the frequency of these occasions much less than I would have preferred.

I have been filling in for a dear friend, mentor while she is in Thailand tending to elephants.  I meditate about what to teach them.  “Teach them Chakra Yoga!” the universe tells me.  I listen.  We start at the beginning and work our way up.  Did you know that one of the animals associated with the root chakra is an elephant?  I did not, until now.

I have been blessed with the trust and light of her students.  They like to stick around after class.  I resist my “priorities” and I stay in the moment, I pay attention.  I let go of my agenda and follow the one that the universe has provided.  A very wise Yogini talks to me about trust.  She tells me that I am the embodiment of Yoga.  I blush.

The amazing woman from years ago sends me an email announcing a workshop about “Yoga in the Spirit of Transformation”.  (Sigh)  I could definitely use some transformation…. How?  Money, time, and days without snow are in short supply these days.  It miraculously transpires.  All of the pieces fall into place.  I arrive.  She shows up with a bowl of fruit, a vase of flowers, and a smile of recognition. She shows up with another teacher, another light.

I land in my body.  I am a student, a sponge!!  I receive; I refill the well that has almost run dry.  With energy, touch, words, they transform my practice, my path, and my life…

“Just for Today…” the new light says.  Tears slip from the corner of my eyes as I realize, truth, trust, and transformation.  I am exactly where I needed to be!  Something shifts as I lift up the oars and simply allow myself to “receive Grace”.

“Just for Today…” just for this moment, is enough!  And enough is all I need…

“Place your burden at the feet of the Lord of the Universe who accomplishes everything.  Remain all the time steadfast in the heart, in the Transcendental Absolute.  God knows the past, present and future.  He will determine the future for you and accomplish the work.  What is to be done will be done at the proper time.  Don’t worry.  Abide in the heart and surrender your acts to the divine.”

~Ramana Maharshi

One response »

  1. Such a beautiful first post for a beautiful blog! I love this!

    Isn’t it wonderful how everything falls into place at the right times? How the Universe shows us the way without fail?

Leave a Reply

