Live, Learn, Love

Standard

Motherhood and Yoga have taught me some of life’s most substantial and important lessons.  I am constantly amazed and humbled by how much I learn from my practice and my boys.

I have learned that contentment is, ultimately, about becoming comfortable in and feeling at home in one’s own skin.  In order for this to happen, who you are on the inside has to match who you are on the outside.  When this occurs, the people in your life and your environment more frequently and accurately reflect your inner and beautiful radiance.  This process provides some of our biggest opportunities for growth.

I was once told that Yoga is similar to sculpting, in that, it does not create something which is not already there.  Instead, layers and fragments are carefully and selectively removed in order to reveal the beauty that already exists within.  Yoga and parenting have exemplary and effective ways of eliminating inauthenticity from our character.  Your practice and your children will consistently call you out when you are deviating from your truth.

The real work, the difficult work, happens off of our mats and outside of our picture perfect moments.  Accepting moments of inconsistency and failure can be grueling and intensely challenging.  Forgiving yourself for them and letting go of them, even more so.  We often find these concepts easier to apply to people other than ourselves; our babies, our students, even perfect strangers.  The beauty of practicing these principles is that they are a bit like muscles, in that, the more you use them, the stronger and more effective they become.  The more that you exercise acceptance and forgiveness with others, the easier it becomes to apply them to our own inadequacies and shortcomings.

You learn to embrace your imperfections and begin to appreciate them as your greatest teachers.  You carry on.  You try again in the next moment and the moment after that.  You learn to let go.  Not in spite of the fact that you are gloriously human but exactly because you are.

“I must learn to love the fool in me–the one who feels too much, talks too much, takes too many chances, wins sometimes and loses often, lacks self-control, loves and hates, hurts and gets hurt, promises and breaks promises, laughs and cries. It alone protects me against that utterly self-controlled, masterful tyrant whom I also harbor and who would rob me of human aliveness, humility, and dignity but for my fool.”
~Theodore I. Rubin, MD

3 responses »

  1. N, I just found the source of the sculpting concept! It is from Judith Hanson Lasater’s book Living Your Yoga. On page five I highlighted “A favorite image I use to explain this verse to my students is that of a sculptor. When carving stone, the sculptor removes everything that is not the statue. She does not add anything to create it, except the willingness to do the work. The art of revealing beauty lies in removing what conceals it. So too, Patanjali tells us that wholeness exist within us. Our work is to chisel away at everything that is not essence, not Self.” This book was a required text for my original teacher training in 2002…

Leave a Reply

